Singer Miguel Goes On Twitter Rant And Calls Out Blacks

He spoke his mind.

He spoke his mind.

Well singer Miguel definitely sparked a bit of controversy last week when he went on a Twitter rant saying basically that black people were the “most judgmental people in the world.”

Ouch.

Actually there are some truths in there.

Actually there are some truths in there.

Obviously I don’t agree with what Miguel said as far as blacks being the most judgmental but I get what he was trying to say. He just said it the wrong way. But some of those tweets above show on a deeper level what he was getting at. He is speaking the truth that due to a tough history in this country we as a black community do have a lot of unnecessary infighting and issues to deal with. Like color discrimination within the community for example. So I can’t be mad at him overall for what his point was.

Read the full article on what sparked his rant here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Singer Miguel Goes On Twitter Rant And Calls Out Blacks

  1. ericjbaker says:

    I’m admittedly overstepping here by responding to comment about a culture to which I do not belong made by a person within that culture, but that never stopped me from opening my big mouth before. Anyway… that’s pretty unfair to a lot of people who don’t fit neatly under such a blanket statement, isn’t it?

    Like when I hear a white male news pundit say, with authority, “White men voted for Romney,” in discussing election results, despite the fact that millions upon millions of us did not. “Stop projecting, mother*****” I shout at the TV. Then my wife gives me stern look and my son laughs.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      You are right. He stepped a bit too far by generalizing. Which is where I disagreed with him. But the root of his arguments were good, that as a community we sometimes, too often I think, let our issues cause us to jump on each other. Problem is his general statement will overshadow his deeper point.

Leave a Reply

