Sergio Garcia Shows His Racist Side Since He Can’t Beat Woods

He had to go there.

He had to go there.

Good heavens, this was a stupid thing to say:

Sergio Garcia crossed a line Tuesday he never should have toed.

At the European Tour’s annual gala dinner ahead of its flagship event, the BMW PGA Championship in England, Garcia responded to a question asking if he would have dinner with Tiger Woods at next month’s U.S. Open at Merion.

His reply, according to The Guardian: “We will have him round every night. We will serve fried chicken.”

The comment can only be construed as racially charged, particularly if one harkens back to remarks made by Fuzzy Zoeller in 1997 after Tiger Woods won the Masters. Zoeller, the 1979 Masters winner, was asked about Woods’ record-setting performance and injected several racial undertones – not to mention some overtones – into his response.

“That little boy is driving well and he’s putting well,” Zoeller said. “He’s doing everything it takes to win. So, you know what you guys do when he gets in here? You pat him on the back and say congratulations and enjoy it and tell him not serve fried chicken next year. Got it? … or collard greens or whatever the hell they serve.”

I just wish the racists would be creative enough to come up with something fresh, rather than bringing out the same old tired stereotypes. And don’t you just love those non-apology apologies. Here is Garcia’s:

“I apologize for any offense that may have been caused by my comment on stage during the European Tour Players’ Awards dinner,” Garcia said. “I answered a question that was clearly made towards me as a joke with a silly remark, but in no way was the comment meant in a racist manner.”

“May have caused.”

Wow. Here is the full article.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sergio Garcia Shows His Racist Side Since He Can’t Beat Woods

  1. ericjbaker says:

    It wasn’t intended in a racist manner, just in a super-funny way that implies all black people eat fried chicken, which is just coincidentally a racist stereotype. So, like, it’s all good, you know?

    I picked up an 8-piece tray of fried chicken at Shop Rite yesterday on the way home from work. It was hardly my first time. Oddly, no one looked at me and made jokes, nor did they link my identity to my purchase. I wonder why. White people eat fried chicken all the time.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      My son and I were talking about that stereotype just the other day as we noted that probably 99% of ALL ethnicities eat fried chicken in America. I mean I do get the historical context of the stereotype, but it is such a tired way to try to make fun of a black person (or semi-black in Tiger’s case). Garcia had to know the history of that “joke” and I doubt he didn’t know about Fuzzy saying a similar thing years earlier since so much was made of it when that was said then. Silly people.

      • ericjbaker says:

        There’s certainly such a thing as “soul food,” of course, since we wouldn’t have soul food restaurants if there weren’t (aren’t you glad you have me around to explain these things to you!), but something as commonplace as eating fried chicken is an absurd way to label someone. In my travels to Asia I’ve encountered tons of fried chicken places. surely they aren’t supported by the three or four dark-skinned people I ran into there.

        Anyway, in this context, it’s being used as a putdown.

        I’m glad your blog exists, even if it’s frustrating and disappointing to read about these events.

      • Earnest Harris says:

        Yeah I wish there were less of these kinds of incidents to post about. Which is why I try to balance the posts between the good stuff happening between “groups” and the crazies that we cannot forget are still out there and need to be called out for being stupid.

Leave a Reply

