Cherokees and Blacks, Connected No Matter What

Intertwined forever.

I must admit I’m not really sure what I think of this one. On the one hand, the Cherokee tribe has a right to do what they want to do in determining their membership. But on the other hand, the history of the Cherokees is undeniable when it comes to how much mixing occured between them and Blacks. My grandfather is half Cherokee and I remember, though vaguely since I was so young, a time with his mother, my great grandmother, who was Cherokee.

And yet I don’t find myself bothered by the decision of the Cherokee nation. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because political decisions cannot change what actually happened. Anyway, here is an excerpt from the story, and a link:

The nation’s second-largest Indian tribe formally booted from membership thousands of descendants of black slaves who were brought to Oklahoma more than 170 years ago by Native American owners.

The Cherokee nation voted after the Civil War to admit the slave descendants to the tribe.

But on Monday, the Cherokee nation Supreme Court ruled that a 2007 tribal decision to kick the so-called “Freedmen” out of the tribe was proper.

The controversy stems from a footnote in the brutal history of U.S. treatment of Native Americans. When many Indians were forced to move to what later became Oklahoma from the eastern U.S. in 1838, some who had owned plantations in the South brought along their slaves.

Here is the link to the full story.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

