Mixed Kids Bring A Clearer Perspective on Cultural Relations

Symbolizing a whole new world.

My son is finishing up a speech for his 8th grade class and they were allowed to do the speech on whatever topic they chose. It does my heart well to see that on his own, he chose to speak about racism and the need to get beyond such silliness. I have been amazed and pleased many times when we have had discussions about culture and ethnicity how much he, and his sister, have such clear and strong open minds when it comes to such issues. And it is something he has clearly spent more than a few minutes thinking about.

I haven’t heard the speech yet. He plans to do it for me later today and I can’t wait. But the fact that he is doing it at all already makes me very proud and happy.  I think he, and people like him, those that embody ethnicities and cultures coming together, has the best chance of any of us, to make sense of this lunacy for others. His very existence proves we can come together. And his attitude and popularity prove that being mixed is not a handicap as some still want to believe. On the contrary, he and many other Mixed people, prove that for many of them, being what they are is the best of all worlds, providing a unique perspective on the world.

So before he even speaks a word of his speech, he has already delivered his message.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Mixed Kids Bring A Clearer Perspective on Cultural Relations

  1. Laurie says:

    Hi
    Thank you for this post. My son is 10 years old and reminds me of your son.

    I feel the same before he says a word he has already delivered his message.

    Amen

    Don’t know if u will get this message so long after the blog but your sharing is a blessing to me.

Leave a Reply

