Sometimes The Debate Just Tires You Out

After much deep thought (well semi-deep at least) I have decided to discontinue this blog. It is in part because my film production company and talent management company are keeping me extremely busy these days, but the biggest reason frankly is just fatigue from trying to open people’s minds.

In the aftermath of the Trayvon Martin trial, I have watched the racial division get even more entrenched between those I feel are trying very hard to get people to to realize the many subtle and profound ways race plays into life in America, and those on the other side who simply refuse to see it. I think I have come to realize that blogs like mine either preach to the choir of those who are like-minded already (though it has been a joy to meet so many through this blog) or it goes to those who simply want to argue and no matter what logic is used, prefer to discount.

I have also reluctantly come to the conclusion that at the end of the day, for the most part, the only people that can impact white racism, in terms of getting people to maybe possibly listen, is another white person. When a person of color, especially a black man, tries to discuss what racism feels like, it is hard for some whites, the ones who most need to hear it, to get beyond the fact that a black person is saying it. They see it as whining, complaining, exaggerating, being mistaken, everything but being what it is. And certainly the same may well be true for dealing with closed minded blacks or other minorities, only other people of color may be be able to get through to them also.

The reality of this fact hit me the most in the aftermath of President Obama’s wonderful discussion on the Trayvon Martin verdict. It was heartfelt, honest and just a man talking about his real life experience. Yet the outcry from those who don’t like Obama or don’t want to hear that black male view was swift and ugly in many instances. Again, basically totally discounted.

So my decision to stop writing this blog doesn’t mean I am giving up on what matters to me. That would be impossible when I live a mixed life, with a mixed family, one of varying ethnicities and cultures. Nor do I think the majority of the people out there are bad. Not at all. And as I said before I have had the pleasure of meeting some wonderful people all over the world, and of varying skin colors through this blog. And I will continue to support, follow and comment on their blogs. I treasure them too much. I will continue to chime in occasionally through my Huffington Post blog, which I write here and there, as I am moved. I have found lots of great blogs and sites on matters of race, mixed life, and equality in general, so I know the information is out there. So mine ceasing won’t end the debates and good work so many are doing.

Thanks to the loyal readers and those that stumbled hear occasionally . I hope I added something. And I’ll be jumping into the fray here and there, so don’t think I am disappearing.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Sometimes The Debate Just Tires You Out

  1. Sorry to hear you are leaving! I really enjoyed reading your blog. People can be so hateful, especially on the Internet so I can only imagine the types of comments you received. Thank you for all you have done and I continue you much success!

  2. ctfranklin28 says:

    Understood. You have contributed over and above to the conversation that our country needs to have but is afraid to discuss. I applaud your courage and your honesty in that endeavor!

    Good luck to all of your endeavors as you continue to create and evolve your journey through life!

    Peace!

  3. Hi Earnest, I know the feeling of fatigue, frustration and overwhelm from this topic, especially while working full time and having a wife and kids at the same time.

    Will you keep the site open or close it down? Have you considered having someone help you maintain it? Maybe someone from elance? I know some people if you’re interested.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      Hey Glenn. I hadn’t really thought that through. Might give it some thought. But love the work you are doing so thanks for doing what you do.

  4. ericjbaker says:

    I’m amazed at your ability to deliver, time and again, such a reasoned, open, and intelligent message in the midst of the knee-jerk reactionism and mindless hostility all around us. This is one of the best blogs out there, and I’m sorry that you won’t be writing it anymore. At the same time, you are taking your main endeavors to new heights, possibly affording you an opportunity to enlighten people on a far broader scale. I also get your frustration. I believe the winds of enlightenment are blowing, just not fast enough. Someday…

    It may seem funny because I only know you from our respective blogs and from the occasional e-mail, but I consider you a friend, so I hope we will keep in touch.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      Same here my friend. Truly appreciate your wisdom and humor. I’ll keep reading your blog of course, so look for my comments. Still hope to break bread when I get out East.

  5. Sorry to see that you are discontinuing this blog. This is one of my favorite blogs on WordPress and even if I didn’t always comment, I did always read what you wrote.

    I believe I follow you on Twitter so I’ll still be able to see what you are up to. I’ll still be on here blogging if you ever want to comment.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      Thanks. And same with you. And I do enjoy your blog and tweets. So we’ll definitely cross paths.

  6. Jennifer says:

    I am sad to hear that you are discontinuing the blog, though I certainly understand how frustrating it can be. I wish you all the best. Jennifer

  7. A friend of mine pointed me to your blog only today. Thanks for what you’ve done, and keep your chin up.

  8. […] Thanks to the loyal readers and those that stumbled hear occasionally . I hope I added something. And I’ll be jumping into the fray here and there, so don’t think I am disappearing.”; Re-blogged from NO MORE RACE […]

  9. jessica says:

    honestly most white people don’t even want to listen to another white person! i’ve tried as well. it’s very discouraging. :(

  10. Sheri Angell says:

    Well life happened and I put down my “pen” for a while. Upon picking it up again, I’ve discovered you have left. I totally get it, and can only hope one day you return also. “Shirl”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,491 other followers

