Chris Noth Says He And His Wife Have Gotten Hate Mail On Their Mixed Marriage

Chris NothI love this interview with Chris Noth. Go the link below to see the short interview where he discusses his mixed son and the hate mail he has gotten about his mixed marriage. Love his attitude.

Here is a bit on the video:

Chris Noth is famous for his roles in “Sex in the City,” “Law & Order” and “The Good Wife,” but he’s long sought to keep his private life out of the spotlight.

In an interview with the Wall Street Journal, a candid Noth talked about getting married last year to his longtime girlfriend, Tara Lynn Wilson, and his dismay over opponents of interracial relationships sending the couple racist hate mail.

“When I was in a play on Broadway two years ago I’d occasionally get letters of outrage, usually from somewhere in Alabama or something, saying y’know, ‘Don’t come down here with your wife,’” he said.

Still, Noth is hopeful that the world is heading towards a post-racial future. “We’re all getting together. We’re all mixing it up,” he laughs.

Watch the clip from the interview with Noth here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Chris Noth Says He And His Wife Have Gotten Hate Mail On Their Mixed Marriage

  1. ericjbaker says:

    Funny. Up here in the “liberal northeast,” we would never send a letter into the bible belt telling someone to stay away. Some people choose to isolate themselves.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      Indeed. I would be fine if those with that attitude would isolate themselves even further where we never heard from them.

  2. Daisy Day says:

    I didn’t know he was married – good for them to keep their private life private. I despise what some “celebrities” (and I use the word loosely) promote their personal lives on the media. Iived in the NYC metro area for years and was shocked at the amount of prejudice that existed there. Neighborhoods were extremely segregated by race and ethnic groups. I remember in the late 90’s a group of black young men were attacked and severely beaten because their car broke down in an Italian neighborhood and they tried to call for road assistance from a pizza parlor. I also remember crosses being burned in white neighborhoods when blacks moved in. I have moved back to the South and find it more integrated than the areas I lived in up north. Of course, there is prejudice everywhere because there is ignorance everywhere.
    I loved his character “Mr. Big” on SATC – he had fantastic chemistry with Sarah Jessica Parker – I still watch the show on reruns. I am really enjoying him on The Good Wife – good chemistry also. BTW, I normally detest facial hair, but, I love it on Chris Noth – very sexy!.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      Interesting that you bring up segregation in New York City. I lived there as well for many years and I have written about that also. I always found it interesting how segregated New York City is, and in a way, how much pride there is in it. Harlem being black and latino. Little Italy being Italian. Chinatown being Chinese. Bensonhurst being Italian. And so on and so on. I was amazed how seriously people took that as well.

      Yeah I loved Noth in Law& Order and I am a big fan of The Good Wife. So he is one of my favorites. And didn’t even know he was in a mixed relationship, so I applaud him even more.

      Detest facial hair? Wow. Good thing I shaved mine off. :-)

  3. angel says:

    I actually think they are blowing up this more than they should…one piece of hate mail from alabama is hardly a big deal…other actor and actresses get them all the time…but dont feel the need to make a big deal out of it. lol!They are in hollywood for gods sake with lots of mixed marriages. He is tall, handsome and a good catch…and someone in alabama had a crush on him and is jealous. But they shouldnt have given them any attention or even discussed it. They are beautiful couple!

    • Earnest Harris says:

      I got the impression they got more than one piece of mail, but he only referenced that one. And I don’t think he or the reporter focused much on the matter, just a response to an aside question. But I agree, they are a lovely couple and don’t have much to worry about as far as what other people think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,494 other followers

