Paula Deen Cannot Sweep Away This Kind Of Bigotry

What she's been cooking all along.

What she’s been cooking all along.

I was not even going to go there on the Paula Deen story. Until my blogging friend Eric brought her up. Now I can’t help myself. Thanks Eric. :-)

So you probably heard that good old chef Paula Deen has been a closet racist all these years. As Eric pointed out in a comment, the things she apparently has said about blacks (or as she calls us, n**g*r*) have been beyond outrageous. And then there was her slavery themed party idea. Oh my. Here is a great piece on this whole thing from the site Global Grind:

And to think, sweet ol’ Paula Deen who can throw down in the kitchen was my grandmother in my head.

But when it was revealed today that Paula’s idea of a fabulous wedding included a slavery theme? Well…we’ve got a problem on our hands “ya’ll.”

According to a former employee of Paula Deen Enterprises, Paula and her brother, Earl “Bubba” Hiers used the n-word on multiple occasions. Now, Lisa Jackson is suing Paula, citing workplace discrimination, both sexual and racial.

In one such incident, Jackson alleges that Paula said the following while planning Bubba’s wedding:

“Well what I would really like is a bunch of little n***ers to wear long-sleeve white shirts, black shorts and black bow ties, you know in the Shirley Temple days, they used to tap dance around. Now, that would be a true Southern wedding wouldn’t it? But we can’t do that because the media would be on me about that.”

Come again?

In the deposition, she explained the slavery theme…as if that would make things better. She said she got the idea from a restaurant where the wait staff reminded her of slaves.

“The whole entire waiter staff was middle-aged black men, and they had on beautiful white jackets with a black bow tie.

I mean, it was really impressive. That restaurant represented a certain era in America…after the Civil War, during the Civil War, before the Civil War…It was not only black men, it was black women…I would say they were slaves.”

And she even defended her and brother Bubba’s (who admitted to calling President Obama the n-word) jokes about everyone who isn’t white.

“It’s just what they are — they’re jokes…most jokes are about Jewish people, rednecks, black folks…I can’t determine what offends another person.”

So now I’m currently erasing all episodes of Paula’s Home Cooking from my DVR. And shaking my damn head at this grown ass woman who should have known better.

Oh my. What is wrong with some people?? SMH.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Paula Deen Cannot Sweep Away This Kind Of Bigotry

  1. ericjbaker says:

    My mother has a knack for sniffing out the rotten apples amongst us. Maybe I inherited that quality, because something always seemed off about Paula Deen to me. Now I know why.

    Does she think Gone With the Wind is an accurate representation of life in the mid-19th century in the south? Slavery never had a “romantic” period. What a dipshit.

    • Earnest Harris says:

      She probably does think “Gone With The Wind” depicts America’s glory days. I always get a kick out of people who talk about “the good ole days” back in the 40′s, 50′s. I’m like uh, for some people those weren’t good ole’ times.

      • ericjbaker says:

        Have you ever seen the Family Guy episode in which Peter goes into a 1950s-themed restaurant? He’s followed in by his African-American neighbor Cleveland, who is promptly set upon by police dogs and cops in riot gear. Peter looks on and says, “Ah, the good old days.”

        I think humor is often at it’s best when it cuts. I’m sure I’ve said that before.

      • Earnest Harris says:

        I haven’t seen that one. But that is hilarious. That show does deal with these issues in a way that is funny a d yet makes the necessary point.

  2. J says:

    How dare Paula Deen! Damn her, no more Paula Deen on my TV!

  3. Shareen says:

    I’m so glad she got fired – everything about her was unhealthy. Great post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,493 other followers

